About Washakie County

//About Washakie County


Washkie County, Wyoming

Washakie County, Wyoming, is located in the Big Horn Basin in the north-central part of the State. Washakie County’s two incorporated communities are the City of Worland and the Town of Ten Sleep.

Washakie County has the most diversified economy in Wyoming on a per-capita basis featuring several major manufacturing and distribution companies, a large Bureau of Land Management office, a well-respected medical center, oil production, farming and ranching, and world-class telecommunications capabilities.


Business Friendly Environment

Washakie County offers a business-friendly environment in a community-oriented, small town atmosphere. Support services such as office supply, printing, and computer support are available in Worland.

Washakie County is a county on the move. In 2015 the City of Worland Completed a Master Plan and in 2016 a new Airport plan. Currently a $23.4 million dollar renovation is taking place at Washakie Medical Center.

Planning For The Future

A specific purpose 1% sales tax was passed in 2004 to provide for the Worland Community Center Complex, a new Senior Center in Worland, an expanded Senior Center and needed infrastructure in Ten Sleep, and economic development. In 2008 a 1% General Purpose Sales tax was passed for more infrastructure, community and economic development. In 2010, along with an 8.5 million dollar school bond an additional 1% specific purpose sales tax issue passed for a Community Aquatic Center which was completed in 2012. In 2014 a 1% General Purpose tax was passed to continue support for both Senior Centers, The Community Center Complex, Crisis Prevention, the City of Worland and Town of Ten Sleep. Washakie County steps up to help itself and still only has a 5% sales tax in place.